Skip to content

Life Unplugged

June 8, 2010

You have to go on and be crazy. Craziness is like heaven.” Jimi Hendrix

As I ventured to Indiblogger to see the updates as a part of my daily routine, I encountered a fresh Contest waiting for me. This contest called Jiyo Life Moments Blogger Contest required to enter the Jiyo Life moment lived by me. This theme thrilled me as I had on offer whole 2 years, which consisted of innumerable Jiyo Life moments, lived day in and day out by me.

All the people living the bland professional lives will agree with me that College Life is a truly exciting part of our lives. Now on top of that if I tell you that I did my MBA in, wait for it, Goa, What would your reaction be? I will fill in for you in words of Bryan Adams ‘Those were the best days of my Life’.

Now let me tell you why? This college, Goa Institute of Management is a 200 years old structure situated on the banks of river Mandovi. Your first impression in entering this campus would be that it’s so small, but as later we realized it – that was the USP of the place.

The small place ensured that you would be having incidental rendezvous with each and everyone at least 3-4 times in a day which acted as a breeding ground for ever lasting friendships to develop. There was a bar and restaurant just across the road, which developed as a relaxing adda for everyone after day’s work. Imagine sitting in open air with cool breeze flowing and soothing sound of the waves in the river relaxing the soul; To top all this, beer and tandoori chicken to enjoy in company of friends, life was like a dream.

The best thing about GIM was that pursuing MBA formed a very small part of our lives; there was so much to explore. GIM instilled a sense of freedom in me: freedom from purpose, freedom to do anything and everything I wanted to do, and yet not having to think about the objective behind it. Waking up, going to class without brushing or bathing, sleeping through lectures, , GCP (Global Class Participation), bunking, Fish thali at Casa (a road side hotel across the college), booze escapades at Genes, Sutta at the river view table at casa, watching movies all night, Fidalgo (one and only 24 hour running hotel) trip in between to have that 35 bucks masala chai, 6 am breakfast at Casa again with rising sun (without brushing  again  ) And yes all this with mere 3000 bucks a month, can you imagine? Life was so simple and yet so exhilarating.

Goa gave you that option to unwind your tensions (hardly any) and stress (nonexistent), as you could just hop on your bike and venture towards numerous beaches you can go to and just adore the beauty of the vast ocean sitting on the shore or go to the Donna Paula in the evening and be overwhelmed by the breathtaking sunset. For the party lovers, there were frequent rocking parties organized in the most hip clubs of Goa, where you could just immerse in music and dancing all night exalted by the on the house liquor.And not to forget the amazing variety of cuisines on offer for a foodie like me was nothing less than heaven. Life was a never ending bout of excitement and Adrenaline.

We epitomized the phrase ‘We came, We lived and We Conquered’. But the most important part in the phrase is ‘We Lived’. We lived our life in GIM, we were unbound, uncluttered, without inhibitions; in other word we were free. And we let go of everything that was remotely sane or logical, we did whatever we wanted without thinking of implications: in other words we crossed the barriers of Consciousness or Sanity. We dived into the realms of ‘Crazy’, we let go of ourselves completely  and hence we had the unforgettable times at GIM and GOA, which would always have the most special places in my heart .

You have to go on and be crazy. Craziness is like heaven.” Jimi Hendrix

We really and truly had 2 pure unadulterated ‘Jiyo Life’ years at GOA.

56 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 9:04 pm

    Reminds me of my childhood. I spent the first 17years of my life in Goa! love the beaches, the wonderful people ..memorable & nostalgic

  2. February 15, 2011 3:00 pm

    Wow MBA @ Goa sounds heaven indeed.
    The two times I have been to Goa have both been amazing… your post makes me go visit again. Delightful! And yes, some stunning pictures too!

  3. tweedlethumb permalink
    February 13, 2011 9:45 pm

    This is like cheating on the other MBA students who drag their ‘donkeys’ through abnormal places with interns in miserable cubicles and with assignments which make the idea of going on a holiday sound obscene and pervert.

    Amazing Man ! 🙂

  4. July 14, 2010 7:19 pm

    Aha, Goa 🙂

  5. July 5, 2010 1:04 pm

    Your post makes me wanna join GIM for an MBA! :). Nice one!

  6. June 24, 2010 7:08 pm

    Goan fish-curry rice. Oh yes.

  7. June 21, 2010 2:11 pm

    Nicely presented days of happiness 🙂

  8. June 21, 2010 1:35 pm

    We Lived! most capturing words, love universities beside lake, river, share the similar experience of lake beside my university in Finland! they are my stress relievers!

    • June 21, 2010 1:53 pm

      Thanks Ananda..I agree waterbody around the campus does give it a serene feel.

  9. June 17, 2010 12:55 am

    U came, U lived n U conquered. Lucky U! What more could have been a Jiyo Life moment , a life full of vivacity more than this, so aptly described by U.

    Btw, Goa is the only Indian state/place to have made it to the list of top 20 most romantic places in the world. 14 out of 20 are in europe. – Nat Geo India.

    I promote.

    • June 17, 2010 10:33 am

      Thanks a lot Man !! And yes i saw that the ‘Romantic place’ thing worked very well on my batch 😉

  10. June 15, 2010 1:45 pm

    That looks like lots of fun !!! And I went to vote for you !! All the best. 🙂

  11. June 14, 2010 4:47 pm

    Very nice post and cool pics! True indeed, those were the best days! Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  12. June 13, 2010 10:12 am

    photographs are of very good quality. Wish you all best.

  13. June 12, 2010 11:09 pm

    All the best for the contest! Good Post..
    Though I have had a lot of “Jiyo Life” moments even after that, college life will remain the best always. 🙂

  14. June 11, 2010 10:27 am

    Interesting……

  15. June 10, 2010 8:20 am

    … good times never stay forever … but the good thing is that it will come again … but till then enjoy it anyway 🙂

    • June 10, 2010 9:18 am

      Welcome to the blog Sharmila !! I agree with you, good times dont last, but memories are for forever..

  16. June 10, 2010 2:13 am

    Loved the imagery — visual and prose. You made those precious moments come alive.
    All the best for the contest!

    • June 10, 2010 9:17 am

      Thanks a lot Mansi !! Glad you took time to visit here..Thanks for the wishes..

  17. June 9, 2010 7:39 pm

    Wonderful post.

  18. June 9, 2010 3:11 pm

    College life is the best 😀 … All the best!!!

  19. June 9, 2010 2:12 pm

    all the best!

  20. delhizen permalink
    June 9, 2010 12:38 pm

    I Envy you Rahul…

    • June 9, 2010 12:48 pm

      Beleive me I am not baosting, But you should..It was heaven..

  21. Komal permalink
    June 9, 2010 11:17 am

    Your post made my resolve to get into GIM stronger than ever… Your college is my dream college 🙂 ….

    • June 9, 2010 11:37 am

      Thanks a lot Komal..I might add that they are shifting the college from this awesome place to a new 300 acre campus.. So you might not get to study in this heritage structure..But Goa will still be thr..ATB for getting into GIM..

  22. June 9, 2010 11:10 am

    Hey.. you seem to have had a blast. Great post… lovely pics!
    Best wishes for the contest 🙂

    • June 9, 2010 11:21 am

      Thanks a lot Priya..and beleieve me..We had a upper case BLAST !! 🙂

  23. Joshi Mukard permalink
    June 9, 2010 11:01 am

    Hope you will win this contest. My vote is for you

  24. June 9, 2010 9:34 am

    felt nostalgic about my college days too after reading this post….truly life jiyo moments:)

    • June 9, 2010 9:47 am

      Thanks for the comment !! And I am extremely happy, my post is making people remember their college lives..

  25. June 9, 2010 8:51 am

    A wonderful post, you remind me of my college days at IHM. I will soon pen down my memories of past, thanks for the inspiration..and hey my vote is there for you 🙂

  26. June 9, 2010 6:42 am

    7 years of my childhood+working life in Goa…one of the best years for me too…your pictures touched a few buttons but college life does have it’s own charm…unforgettable!

    • June 9, 2010 8:11 am

      Thanks Nalini for the comment..They were the best days ever !!

  27. June 9, 2010 2:26 am

    The photos are really great. You have mentioned even before the contest about your HAPPY life at GIM. That itself proves those were your most heavenly days.

  28. Rahul Batta permalink
    June 8, 2010 10:56 pm

    Yaad aayenge yeh pal …

    GIM me main … mere sapne .. mere apno se yahee main milaa …
    Padna likhna … Yaari dosti … Mohabbat ka yeh silsila …..

  29. Vartika permalink
    June 8, 2010 9:56 pm

    Just the mention of Goa and the photos that you have put in here reminds me of all the excitement and frolic we owe to GIM!!!

    Really…wish I could relive those days…

    All the best Dude for the contest!GIM deserves the Win!

Leave a comment