Skip to content

Retrospection

August 5, 2010

 

                                                                                   

Hello my dear web friends, I hope you all are doing well. Few days ago I got this forward from a friend that listed print ads from the 1970s to 1990s. They featured various stars from that era who were dazzling the ads (how so much quaint and unflashy the ads maybe as compared to today). This gave me a food for thought; When these stars would look back at those days where they were on the apex of their lives (I am assuming that’s what they would consider the apex: glory, fame, stardom), how would they feel today? They were in demand; everybody wanted a piece of their fame to liven the brands.

I am sure the world was not so competitive in those times; India was still a protective economy, so companies were not threatened by the Multinational bulldozer. Hence they kept things simple and businesses still survived. Unsurprisingly the stars were still cricketers and film actors, in those times also. I am sure when these stars of past would miss being the cynosure as they were then. Once you have tasted the honey of fame and success, it becomes very hard to retract, I assume. How would those stars feel today when they are sidelined? World has moved on and changed drastically; How do they feel when they see that it’s no longer their time, a young crop completely different in values and ethos has taken over.

Now the young generation hardly recognizes them, leave alone surrounding them for autographs. How many of you would go crazy seeing a Dharmendra or Rajesh Khanna, if you see the guy in a Mall? I don’t think many of us will raise even one goose bump seeing the superstars of past. But our parents will tell us how big they were in the past, and how crazy girls were for Rajesh Khanna. But those days are gone and nowadays they get the life time achievement awards. I ponder would they be happy seeing in retrospective the life they lived, I am sure they will. That will be the fuel for them to live today when they are not anymore the centre of attraction, but they will have their lives that was worth to remember.

This brings me to the thought that the way I am living my life today, would the guy (me) at 60 years of age be happy seeing me living the life as I am living today. Would he scold me, for not doing more my life? Or would he be content that I had fun in my life, I travelled places, I did handle all my responsibilities, all in all lived a full life. Perceptions will differ from people to people, but we will all agree that we would want that 60 year old guy to feel happy seeing us in our life today. So just give it a thought before you do extended hours at work, work on weekends, ignore family, postpone that pleasure trip and see whether old you would want piles of money in the locker with a wasted life or would it want just enough money to survive and a life lived that was worth reminiscing. Today is when we can change before it become too late.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 5:03 pm

    Good post. I would want to have “just enough money to survive and a life lived that was worth reminiscing”.

  2. August 9, 2010 6:35 pm

    “…see whether old you would want piles of money in the locker with a wasted life or would it want just enough money to survive and a life lived that was worth reminiscing.” I’d definitely want a life worth remembering! Nice post! Lots of food for thought! 🙂
    Btw, do you know how can I get the Blogchai widget? They seem to have removed it from their site 😦

    • August 9, 2010 6:55 pm

      Hey Shinjini, Thanks for the comment, keep droppin in.

      Btw for the Blog Chai widget, sent on ur mail.

  3. vartika permalink
    August 5, 2010 11:16 pm

    hmmm…i m still thinkin wat will make me happy when i m 60 and looking back into the memory lanes…how true Rahul…the memories that will make happy in the future are not what we fight to build today…priorities are so different given today than what we might wish they were when we grow old and try to remember these days..

    Well I m still thinking… 😐

  4. August 5, 2010 7:38 pm

    Taking a philosophical route I see. In the end it is today that matters and is most important.

  5. delhizen permalink
    August 5, 2010 4:11 pm

    Okay Rahul, this post actually got me thinking..! and introspect further on it I have decided to take the weekend off and spend with my folks instead 😉

    • August 5, 2010 4:26 pm

      Haha !! Gud to go..but that is just a start..As the great John Lennon said ” Life is what is passing by when you are busy making plans” !!

  6. August 5, 2010 3:58 pm

    “Today is when we can change before it becomes too late”
    touche’ -lovely way of making people think.
    like your unfussy style..
    Keep blogging.

Leave a Reply

