Skip to content

Break ke Baad

July 5, 2010

Ahhhhh!! So good to back on my beloved ingenious invention from the Window maker Bill Gates – MS WORD. First thing is first, my sincere apologies for not posting since a long time and letting your lives go on peacefully and let your minds rest in peace, without the perseverant torture by my out of the box writing. Let me complete my apology by citing the reason for the absence, see my manager one day inadvertently discovered that one of their resource’s utilization has dipped significantly and I am nurturing on them like a parasite. So they decided to take care of it and hence I was overwhelmed with lot of work, hence the absence.

Now assuming that you guys would have forgiven my hibernation and had the illusion of a peaceful life for a while, I am back to make your lives miserable and unbearable again…Tadaaaaaa (read* dramatic appearance out of thin air*).

I am inherently an extremely lazy person, empirically I would put it as I don’t abhor the idea of a Lazy boy (a very comfy sofa) with two compartments, one for food and other for drinks facing my television and laptop in vicinity, and I can easily spend my life with these amenities. So with this preface, I am not very upbeat or jumpy about the idea of some essential (societal, not individual choice) chores like shaving or haircuts etc. But there comes a time once every one and a half month, that people start getting scared of my hairdo and it strikes upon me that it’s time for a haircut. Now unlike woman folk, going to a saloon or parlor is not exactly a celebration time for me, au contraire it is an extremely laborious exercise of getting my butt out of the chair and going 4 kms to bury it onto the saloons chair for the stylist (I have avoided writing ‘Barber’ fearing protests from the community) to do his arduous task and converting me from a gorilla to human.

Now as I stepped into the saloon yesterday and the stylist was getting ready with his tools, suddenly I heard loud noises which was followed by 4-5 people marching into the saloon. As I noticed, I saw two couples with a 7-8 month old kid have approached the saloon to get the get the kid’s head tonsured. The Mom Dad and Uncle Aunt had arrived for the occasion and everybody had swamped the poor guy (stylist) with suggestions on how to carry out the job. It’s so funny how people can actually advise on things they know nothing of, to a guy who is supposed to be a trained professional.

 Anyways I noticed the females were so unperturbed and nonchalant of the fact that they were in a Men’s parlor. I was so amazed at the assumption that Men have no ‘Izzat’ (respect.) Men are disallowed to even peek at a ladies parlor but the ladies can enter any Men designated area at will. Why the prejudice? In my MBA days also, entry for boys in the Girl’s hostel was prohibited and not vice versa. So as expected the girl’s hostel were empty most of the times, it was extremely uncomfortable for the guys as the female flock inhabited the boy’s hostel 24×7. How so ever enjoyable and titillating the female presence may be in short term, in long term it was a pain.

I still want to ask this question to the Dean, how come the Boys hostel was assumed to be Open for exploration whereas the girls hostel was not. I can cite many more examples of this bias but I don’t have the answer to why it happens. Any of the Girls out there, Please satiate my inquisitiveness and tell me Why girls have izzat and boys don’t?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 8:07 am

    A good humorous post… 🙂

  2. July 6, 2010 12:22 pm

    good to see you back, but I never felt like you were out on a break.

    • July 6, 2010 12:29 pm

      I hadnt posted in like 10-12 days, thats a hibernation for me as i have a frequency of 2 posts per week, hence ‘Break Ke Badd’.

  3. July 6, 2010 10:13 am

    Men have no izzat? compared to what? And it cant be what I am thinking- so …? 🙂

    Started my day well- ty:)

  4. July 5, 2010 9:21 pm

    Ha Ha! Hilarious! 😀
    You even changed your profile pic. It’s better!

  5. July 5, 2010 7:27 pm

    man,i am with you! rest assured one day our[male] izzat wil be restored!thoufgh reciprocal action is not permitted,still should we mind a little peepinfg by the genere in question!come on !!!!
    welcome back after lifebuoy,khan’s dish t.v.,bade bacchhan, binani cement!!!!!

    • July 5, 2010 8:42 pm

      Hahaha !! Thanks Uncle and Amen to our eternal wish (to get respect back) 🙂

  6. delhizen permalink
    July 5, 2010 5:43 pm

    Thanks Rahul for making me crack-up- one of the most hilarious posts ever- can’t stop laughing on the way you have said- ‘I was so amazed at the assumption that Men have no ‘Izzat’ (respect.)’

    And on a serious note; well, I agree it’s not right to assume that it doesn’t make a difference to men if girls intrude into their space unperturbed as if it is no big deal!

    Of course they have and deserve all due respect…

    But tell me something, in reality how many men actually disapprove of this kind of intrusion? Most don’t care about what they do in public (and this includes the educated lot too)- you know what I mean

    • July 5, 2010 5:54 pm

      Thanks a Lot Pallavi for partly endorsing my view. As for your question, I agree that Men can behave as wild animals at times, but then that is their own personal spcae, it should not give others to take inspiration to tag them as uninhibited and kill their privacy.

      • delhizen permalink
        July 5, 2010 6:02 pm

        All I can say is; I empathize and agree with your perspective- but don’t sound so victimized

        • July 5, 2010 6:38 pm

          And All I can say is Days have arrived when the Hero will cry out in movies – Bachao, Bachao !! 😉

  7. July 5, 2010 5:06 pm

    First LOL @ that couch potato pic !!! 😆

    So, u are back – I thot you too got that writerz block !!! 🙂

    4 ppl to tonsure one little kid’s head, huh ??? Was he so scared or what ???? I remember those days, when two or three of us need to hold my daughter, so that she can have a proper hair cut – to think of those days is deadly.

    • July 5, 2010 5:15 pm

      Hmm..Writer’s Block..that would have been more intellectual thing to say, crap :-X Thanks Uma for the comment.

Leave a Reply

