Skip to content

Go Green !!

June 5, 2010

Image Source: http://www.fasttrackfundraising.com

Today is World Environment Day:

World Environment Day (WED) is a day that stimulates awareness of the environment and enhances political attention and public action. It is on 5 June. It was the day that United Nations Conference on the Human Environment began.

Source: Wikipedia

So like all other days, this is another one when we are supposed to remember how nonchalantly all over the year we are destroying the environment and one day we suddenly realize that we have to preserve the environment for our future. This is another example how we have dedicated a day for caring about something we forget comfortably rest of the year. I see the Time of India paper today and I see at least 3 ads per page from companies boasting how they have gone green and how they are proactively working towards preserving the future. TOI itself says that they have printed the newspaper in recycled paper, also they innocently declare that recycled paper is costlier than normal paper so for the remaining 364 days they will not be able to use recycled paper. I believe that this is the same with rest of the profit oriented firms as well, one day they demonstrate how green oriented they are and rest of the year they put balance sheet over environment.

But let’s see what happens all over the year, a lot of trees were cut down by Hyderabad municipality near the CMs residence so that they don’t pose a threat to helicopter landing in the area; that is other thing that CM had never used helicopter from his residence for ages. With the increasing population, cities are turning into concrete jungles with no space for trees. Builders do take care that all the modern amenities are provided in the complex, but trees are lowest in the priority, space utilization wins the race and environment looses.

I am not saying we as people are even iota better. Look at US, they have 3 cars per household ratio and we are moving towards that path as well. With increasing income of households, environment is getting the biggest hit. Number of cars in India is exponentially increasing and so does pollution. The problem with our psychology is we don’t perceive the imminent danger until it is threatening our area of existence. Let me explain, are we really bothered by all the violence i.e. happening in Pakistan and how Taliban is growing stronger by the day. I would say 99% of us don’t, because it’s happening in Pakistan and not in India. Let us lower the area now, we know that drinking water is getting scarce day by day, but are we perturbed by it till we are getting that water 24×7 in our homes. We continue to use water in abundant quantities and just deliver a sigh when we see the news on TV of a woman walking 4 miles to fetch that pot of water and then we switch the channel to HBO and continue watching our favorite movie. Another example, we know that polythene is not good for the environment and it is not degradable. But how many of us will take a carry bag along when we go shopping for groceries or clothes, I haven’t seen anyone any one carry a bag in supermarket or a mall. We constantly complain how the mercury is rising to alarming heights every year and how even ACs are not enough to control it, but do we really care about global warming, other than saying ‘Something should be done to curb Global Warming’ on its mention, and then lay in peace assuming somebody else will take care of it.

My point is a lot more needs to be done than declaring ‘Day’ to commemorate the threats that we face and actionize on it. And no, the responsibility does not lie with government; it lies with us, the people. We have to understand that charity begins at home and if we don’t act on this now, pretty soon it will be too late. And there are very small things we can do to save the environment:

  • Use water scarcely and only as much required.
  • Plant trees, even one per person will go a long way in preserving environment.
  • Use vehicles judiciously, walking is a very good exercise if it’s a short distance.
  • Always go shopping with carry bags, it is not something to be ashamed of (I know many people are).
  • Use as less paper as possible, digital media is a boon and should be used in abundance. Go get an e copy of all your bills and statements and take printouts only when necessary.
  • Try to buy products which are recyclable and support companies which are green.

These things are not anything new and we have seen them several times, the only difference is we need to start executing them now. C’mon people, let’s Go Green. What kind of a world we will be passing to the next generation is only dependent on us and nobody else.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 10:54 pm

    I completely am in awe of this blog 🙂 totally gonna have to put this on my bookmarks.

  2. Vartika permalink
    June 7, 2010 9:59 pm

    What a reminder!

    Definitely Charity begins at home..but only few implement it..I guess am still trying to be one of those few..
    At times, when I begin to go climb down the stairs from my flat on 5th floor, this thought does cross my mind..what if I don’t take the car today to half a km away supermarket, but you know just when am about to ignore my car and hit the road, a thought crosses my mind “What the hell, one ride alone really cant destroy the environment”, but what I forget is….saving this ride could definitely help not adding to the pollution. Had I read the TOI that morning of 5th June, I might have not taken the car but have walked instead.

    Well..what am saying is..we do need a push at times, may be that’s what WED is meant for.

    However, it is true only a Day out of 365 is not enough!

    • June 7, 2010 10:03 pm

      Thats so true Vartika !! If we take that extra step everyday, I am sure it will be very good for the Nature on the whole..Thanks for the comment…

  3. June 7, 2010 11:54 am

    well said, my friend. Though these things have been told many a times before, the topic never loses its green. I hope your post will reach the people who are still ignorant about this.

  4. June 6, 2010 1:57 am

    Well, seems you are among the few who has a concern for our environment. Nice post! People ignore small and simple measures thinking that nothing will change only if they are contributing and no one else. There are some around me with this mentality.
    I don’t contribute much, but I do my level best to save mother earth.

  5. June 5, 2010 11:52 pm

    Good to know that you are so concerned about the environment. 🙂

  6. Pattu permalink
    June 5, 2010 11:29 pm

    I try to protect trees in my small colony. I grumble, fight and use all non-violent methods. I sulk for days on end. I glare at the offenders . My husband get embarrased and sulks in return.

    I will not give up!

  7. June 5, 2010 3:02 pm

    thats cool yaa.. so how bout sharing the not so green things you do

    • June 5, 2010 3:05 pm

      I own a car.. But then in my defence the Autos and Buses here are not CNG, so they are more polluting..And there driving skills bring you closer to death each day..

      • June 5, 2010 3:11 pm

        oh! thats okay..you can always suggest a car pool to your colleagues if you don’t have one already…

  8. June 5, 2010 2:52 pm

    Okay, here is my contribution to being more environment friendly

    • Gardens at our home are only watered with recycled supply by the MCD so no fresh water is wasted.
    • We do carry our bags when we go shopping
    • I refuse to buy a car because I will add the chaos on the road and pollution. CNG autos or local buses are my way to commute

    Do you know there are many eco friendly companies coming up with cool ideas now days there is one I know about that picks up all the uprooted trees from the highway and other construction site and replants them…

    So how green are you?

    • June 5, 2010 2:57 pm

      Thats awesome Pallavi, i am proud of you..
      – All my bills and statements come by mail, No paper wasted..
      – My newspapers go to this NGO who are into recycling paper.
      – I use as less water as possible ( skipping baths as well ,just kidding 😉
      – I have a very nice balcony garden which i cherish like anything.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Go Green !! « Verbosity -- Topsy.com
  2. Dedicate a day for environment and forget about it? at Blogbharti
  3. Color Me with Shades of the Nature, why just Green? « Delhizen's Blog

Leave a Reply

