Skip to content

The Gut Theory

May 26, 2010

I have firmly decided to bite the dust with a minimum of medical assistance when my time comes, and up to then to sin to my wicked heart’s content ~ Albert Einstein

One of my friends posted this quote on Facebook and it instantly struck a chord with me. Albert Einstein may have a 50 plus lead in terms of IQ over me, but at least on one of the things he thought like me (Although I have yet to understand when did he committed sins, in between doing all those discoveries.) But since I don’t have the motivation, direction, quotient, dedication or inclination to work towards any inventions or discoveries; I have a much better chance of committing sins than Mr. Einstein.

I have always been a person who has given preference to Heart over mind; did I hear someone say Why? Come on, you can still live if you are brain dead, but you are a dead duck if your heart stops functioning. So as elders say ‘Give Respect and Take Respect’, so I have gladly succumbed to whatever my heart has commanded me to do all my life and in turn I have had the best of time so far.

Anyways Brain is a very boring organ, it is a programmed device which will always give you the best option possible and will always make you choose the least risky path. What is the fun in that? Whatever is beautiful in this world will never be explored following a least risky way. Brain is such a programmatical organ that scientists have been able to emulate its working through Neural Networks.

Although scientists have been able to make an artificial heart as well, but it is no more than a blood pumping organ and I hope we all will disagree to the scientific perception of Heart as a mere valve dissipating blood. It is obviously much more than that, otherwise all our Bollywood movies wouldn’t be having all songs woven around the famous ‘Dil’ and Celine Dion singing ‘My Heart will go on’ will only have had a therapeutic meaning, indicating a hope for the heart to be healthy, Borree !! What about Valentine Day, would it be as special if the centerpiece Heart wouldn’t be there? In all the history of Mankind, heart has been given a special place, so much so that all emotions are related with it, We always say ‘Heartfelt’ not ‘Brainfelt’, We wish someone to be ‘Hale and Hearty’ and not ‘Hale and Brainy’, it sucks right.

So I hope I have been able to establish that Heart is the driver of our life and not brain. So working forward on this Hypothesis, Heart always tells you to do which will make you feel good. It always tells you to succumb to that Temptation, which the brain will discard or reject always, reasoning about right or wrong. You are tempted to have that Extra Cheese, Double Fat, Finger Fries on the side Burger and heart obliges and says –‘Go ahead, have a bite’. Whereas the idiotic brain says – ‘Dude!! wtf, you will get fat, think about the 38” waist, cholesterol and what not’. All the adventure we will have in life will be due to that lovely heart. Heart will tell you-’ Go out, get drenched in rain, it is heaven’: brain will tell you ‘Be inside, you will have pneumonia’. Heart will tell you on a boring Friday – ‘Pack your bags, go visit a new place’: brain will say-‘Plan the trip properly, decide the itinerary and then think of stepping out’. I leave it to you, when you will have more fun, making a trip spontaneously following your guts or planning the schedule months in advance.

Heart will always guide you to live life the way it should be done, asking only one question all the time ‘What will make me happy?’ And doing whatever comes as an answer to this question. Maybe sometimes following the heart will lead you in trouble or will make an ass out of you, but believe me you will at least be satisfied from inside. I do accept this fact some things in life like responsibilities, security, future stop us from going the heart’s way and we have to surrender to the “Practical” choice (btw I hate this word ‘practical’, it is one word that makes you do things that you abhor. And when somebody says to me ‘Be practical’, I swear to god, I want to kill the guy). Because of this practical thinking, I am in a job which was never my first choice, if I would have listened to my heart, I would be a chef today (Ok please stop laughing, you forego the chance to have the best meal in life, made by yours truly J

Whole point is sometimes life will knock you out and make you do something which you hate, but make sure you give it back to life by doing everything else your way. Follow the heart, succumb to sins (not crimes, beware), be tempted, do something stupid, live for yourself.

Always Remember:

Doing the right thing might land you in heaven, but all the interesting people are in hell 😉

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Vartika permalink
    June 1, 2010 3:47 pm

    Hey nice one!!!This was not surprising knowing your theory of…”Main aisa hi hoon..mera mann..jo hoga dekha jayega”!! 😉

  2. May 29, 2010 3:03 pm

    Strange for me its always mind over matters- my heart has a direct connection with my brains and they end-up taking decisions which work in my favor. Either of two at times crib especially when their thoughts are not in sync- but then life is all about fight. Who gets what they want on a plate doesn’t know what’s the charm in hunting!

    • May 29, 2010 3:21 pm

      Yaa sure..My brain is used only at work and heart everywhere else..we all have ways of operating you know..Thanks for the comment..

  3. May 28, 2010 3:54 pm

    No no, I didn’t laugh after reading the chef thing. I respect your dream.

    May be after reading this post you’ll believe me.
    Here’s the address:
    http://ofthoughtsnthings.blogspot.com/2010/04/childhood-dreams 🙂

  4. May 27, 2010 12:01 pm

    awesomeness!
    the mind is where the heart is:)
    they say think before you act…which i do not… most of the times!
    kinda connect with every line…happened to drop in here and glad i read:)!

    Cheers
    Raksha

    • May 27, 2010 12:12 pm

      Hey Raksha..Thanks a lot..Always glad to hear from like minded people..Keep coming back.. 🙂

  5. pankaj arora permalink
    May 27, 2010 10:55 am

    interesting post bullseye, keep coming more of them.

  6. joshimukard permalink
    May 27, 2010 10:49 am

    Being a part of a IT industry, very rarely do we get a chance to do things from my heart. But let’s all ‘give it back to life’ whenever we can. Nice message. Good post. You Rock, man.

  7. May 27, 2010 1:56 am

    Nice post!
    Go out, get drenched in rain, it is heaven’ is what I always do when it rains and then end up being scolded by my parents. 😉
    Listening to your heart and following it is what makes you really happy, isn’t it?
    Although being practical is what you need to be on certain walks of life but you can’t ignore it either.
    And about being a chef, lets hear some good recipes from you.. :p

    • May 27, 2010 10:29 am

      Hey Nima, Was waiting for ur comment 😛 As i sais being practical is a obligation while following the heart is pure joy..As for the recipe, if you laughed hearing that line, you forego the chance, remember 🙂 Keep coming back..

Leave a Reply

