Skip to content

Miss You Mom

May 8, 2010

Courtesy@theycallmefishnetsandpumps

My mom was very sick; she had severe Jaundice and was bedridden since last few days. I was in third year Engineering at that time and exams were close. So she used to force me to study at my friend’s place so that I do not get distracted. One day I had something to eat from outside and had a stomach ache. I got a call from Mom, she said “Beta take medicine, you might have food poisoning”. That was my mother who was herself very ill, she had become very weak and was not able to stand properly  and there she was worrying for her stupid son at that time also.

Narrated the above incident to explain the selflessness and unending love of a being called ‘Mother’. I don’t agree that a Mother is equivalent to God, emphatic NO. That’s because Mother is much above God, God will still give you sorrow from time to time, but a mother will never ever hurt you, even at the cost of herself getting hurt. She carries you for 9 months and bears all the pain in the world to get you into this world and continues to watch over you at every step.

The problem with Children is they take their parents for granted (including me), we assume that they ‘have’ to take care of us and forget that it’s not their obligation to take care of us, they do it because we are an extension of them, they love us more than themselves. And I can easily say, Mother’s have that iota more affection than fathers for their offspring. My mother was a very independent woman; she was a teacher in a school and hence always disciplined me to do well in life. She taught me how there is no substitute for good in this world and being good to others comes back in some form to you. It was surprising how she balanced everything in her life so well; Family, Profession, friends and society. I can assure you Mothers can easily give any Corporate Manager a run for their money, when it comes to management.

I can’t forget how hard she used to work so that, we (me and my sister) can get the best in life; education, food, clothes etc. She put us in a school whose fee was out of their reach, but she never compromised on it. We wore the best of clothes when my Mom always used to postpone the buying of that sari which caught her eye. She always used to go that extra mile to maintain relations and taught us that you can’t live alone in life; friends and relatives complete your life.

It always used to mesmerize me how happy she got on every little of our achievements and used to provide us the support when we failed. Life used to be so easy when she was around, I Knew that she is there to listen to all my problems, my successes, my failures, my crushes and she is there to guide me around them.

The more I think how much she sacrificed for me in life, the more I hate myself for being so ignorant and for taking her for granted. How I used to be sound asleep at 10 in the morning, when she asked me to drop her to office and how I used to say Mom take the bus, I don’t want to wake up. How she used to cook that meal which I refused to eat as I didn’t liked the vegetable, and then she used to make something I liked all over again, I remember this always when I am eating at my Office mess, the worst food ever without complaints. How she got me the Bike when I got into Engineering, when she still used to travel in the public transport; and she used to say “My son will get me a car when he gets a job”.

Today I am working in the best IT firm of the Country, I have a big house, Car and all the comforts in Life; but she isn’t there. My Mother passed away 5 years ago and I can give my life to bring her back. My achievements don’t give me as much happiness as she isn’t there to share it with me. I earn a lot of money but it’s useless as it cannot bring my Mom back. When I sit in my Car, I so much want her to enjoy her Son’s first Car, which was her dream.  I have a Void in my life which cannot be filled; I have to live with this. But believe me it is the hardest.

When I see any of my friends, fighting with their mothers or taking her for granted, I tell them ‘My friend, you are so lucky, you have your mother, treat her as a gift from god, pamper her like no one else, there will be lot of money in your life, but their can only be one Mother’.

Happy Mother’s day Mom, I hope you will be my Mother in the next birth too. And hopefully I will be a better son than what I was. Miss You Mom!!

You Might also like:

GIM: A Journey to Remember

42 Comments leave one →
  1. delhizen permalink
    June 7, 2010 6:21 pm

    I only know what’s a fear when you are close to losing a parent….your post brought those back

    • June 7, 2010 7:38 pm

      May you and your family be at the best health always..Thats all i can say …

  2. May 15, 2010 3:09 pm

    A Great article and a greater tribute to the Mothers! Let’s believe she is watching you and your successes from somewhere in the skies or stars! Good writing…

  3. May 13, 2010 7:03 am

    Dude !! That was a tribute !! Great writing !! You could pierce into heart with your words. I Enjoyed reading!!

  4. May 11, 2010 12:14 pm

    Very touching post! I can totally relate to your feelings… lost my mom 10 years back and have greatly missed her…
    You have a great message here… its indeed a blessing to have one’s parents, to savour all the accomplishments, successes and happiness along with them!
    Best wishes for the contest 🙂

    • May 11, 2010 12:42 pm

      Thanks Priya for visiting..And thanks a lot for the kind words..

  5. Manjeet permalink
    May 11, 2010 1:23 am

    Splendid Thoughts – giving life to the deep heart feelings for a mother in very simple words. Your mom is always with you and her love, blessings, care, sacrafice remains forever with her children.

    Extremely touching – literally made me cry. I do agree that Mother is above God.

    I read your post for the first time. You really made an impact by putting such beatiful words to inspire childrens not to take thier mothers for granted. Very well written..
    Keep it up

    • May 11, 2010 9:31 am

      Thanks a lot Manjeet and Welcome to my blog..This post intention was to give a tribute to my mom and hope that other sons and daughters don’t make the mistakes i did. Thanks again.

  6. May 10, 2010 6:41 pm

    Nothing can replace the love of a mom. Your loss is irreplaceable but am sure she is looking down on you and feeling proud of you. 🙂

  7. May 10, 2010 4:29 pm

    Mothers can easily give any Corporate Manager a run for their money … well said! If we cud do even a portion of what they did for us, it wud be gr8 🙂
    This is so touching … my best wishes with u for the contest 🙂

  8. Tapan permalink
    May 10, 2010 3:44 pm

    Nicely written Rahul. But i don’t think you can miss your mom if you feel she is with you always…be it on any Mother’s day or otherwise!!

    God Bless!! 🙂

    • May 10, 2010 3:53 pm

      Thanks Oza..And as usual didnt expect a straight comment from you 🙂

  9. DruiD permalink
    May 10, 2010 2:13 pm

    Nice yaar.. Very touching. its safe to say u’ve inspired quite a few children of the world!!

  10. May 10, 2010 1:07 pm

    Nice one RSP…perhaps your best post…keep writing…

    • May 10, 2010 2:13 pm

      Thanks Barda, Honored to see you on my Blog. thanks for the appreciation 🙂

  11. May 10, 2010 11:03 am

    Not only me, but my daughter too cried after reading this post. So touching and beautifully written.

    Many a times, we miss to understand the worth of our loved ones, when they are so much around us !!!

    Just feel that your Mom will be watching you do this post and she will certainly feel happy for you….May her soul RIP !!!!

  12. May 10, 2010 12:02 am

    That was the most wonderful feeling put in words for a mother. Your mother is watching you from the heavens and she sure must be delighted and very happy to see that her son is now what she said to people back then. And believe me, your mother will always be there with you in the form of hope, courage and happiness and she will always be alive in your(and your sister’s) heart.

    • May 10, 2010 12:28 am

      Thanks Enigma !! She is always there in my heart..My gratitude for your Kind Words…

  13. May 9, 2010 10:24 pm

    Emotional post full of love…

    All the best for the contest
    Cheers

    P.S Thanks for stopping by my blog and sharing your views..

  14. May 9, 2010 6:47 pm

    Remember, she is watching you. She is always with you, Rahul, feel her presence.

    Nice post and a great blog.

    • May 9, 2010 6:52 pm

      Thanks a lot Gaurav and Yes My Mom is always with me. Thanks for visiting..

  15. May 9, 2010 6:32 pm

    Rahul, the value of any thing reckons to us only when we don’t have it with us. I hope this enlightens lot of people around us who take parents for granted. Truly loved the way you have put across thoughts on your mind. Though I feel sorry for you to have missed your mom’s physical presence, I consider myself to be more lucky to still have my mom around. Your post makes me value them more than before! Thank you once again for a brilliant post.

    • May 9, 2010 7:50 pm

      Thanks Mohan for acknowledging my post..I am very happy that my post helped in you in realizing the true worth of parents..Worship your parents, Happy Mother’s Day !!

  16. May 9, 2010 5:29 pm

    loved the post.. and thanks for the support!!

  17. May 9, 2010 4:14 pm

    Wonderfully expressed! The poignance of the loss and the prose of the nostalgia…here’s wishing you lots of love and happiness…believe me buddy,she’s watching over you in her idiosyncratic way.

    God bless!

    • May 9, 2010 4:17 pm

      Thanks Abhi for the generous comments and Thanks for visiting..Checked out your blog, loved it !!

  18. coffeebeanmusings permalink
    May 9, 2010 2:36 pm

    Wow, a very straight and moving post… No beating around the bush and the words are right from deep within the heart… I guess the moment one realizes the mistake in taking his/her mom for granted, that moment is the ultimate tribute one could pay to the mom.

  19. k1th permalink
    May 8, 2010 11:01 pm

    very nice nd touching post sirji,, frm my past exp i realized one thing tht,whtvr happend to yur life ur parents will b thr fr yu,, nd @ tht time we’ll feel like jst go nd hug them for tht support.. tht luv is beyond anything …..

    • May 8, 2010 11:04 pm

      I Agree Kiran, karan Johar for once was right – ‘Love Your Parents’.

  20. May 8, 2010 7:56 pm

    what a touching and emotional mail. and what a thought !!!!! mother is above GOD. no one has ever said that.i am sure your mother must be feeling very happy whereever she is. all mothers world over wants the same thing for their children — their happiness, their success, their prosperity.mother is the same every where
    i never realised the importance of mother till the time i was only a daughter but now that i am a mother i know what a mother is.
    blessed are the ones who still have their mothers with them . I hope the children realises this and give due importance and respect to her

    • May 8, 2010 10:40 pm

      Thanks Anju..Thats my point we never realise the value of Mother, till she is with us. Thanks for endorsing my view -‘Mother is above God’.

  21. Vartika permalink
    May 8, 2010 4:55 pm

    Very touching post..truly reminds one to not take their parents for granted..it is a bliss to have them around.

    Wish I was able to understand this void better…

    • May 8, 2010 4:57 pm

      Thanks Vartika.. I knw how you adore your parents, keep it up..

Leave a Reply

