Skip to content

Confessions of a Breakfast lover

April 14, 2010

Let me ask you a question – Which part of the day you are most hungry normally? Unless you skipped a meal, the answer 9 out of 10 times will be morning after waking up, pardon me if I am generalizing, but that’s how I feel. You haven’t eaten for good 7-8 hours at least, body’s digestive system has toiled all night, you have been satiated by the download of wastes and stomach is craving for the first meal of the day. And that meal my friends is called Breakfast. According to our trusted aid, Wikipedia ‘The word Breakfast is a compound of “break” and “fast,” referring to the conclusion of fasting since the previous day’s last meal.’ Breakfast has always been considered the most important meal of the day and a good breakfast keeps you going for the whole day with zeal, along with that it increases metabolism, helps to contain weight and improves concentration. And as saying goes – ‘Have Breakfast like a King’, as the body has all day to digest the food and so you can be as lavish as you want to be in a Breakfast. This particular point makes breakfast my favorite meal in the day.

Now Why I am blubbering about breakfast? Good Question people. From childhood days I have been always fascinated with Breakfast, as it was the combination of the most diverse and tasty items : Cereals, Eggs (boiled, scrambled, omelet, half fried), Toasts, Butter, Jam, Fruits, Juice or milk etc. – Yummy.

How so much I liked breakfast, during school and college days, I normally didn’t had breakfast because my dad had his office from 9 am and he was habituated to had lunch before going to office, my grandfather had the same habit, so it kinda flowed down generations. But whenever on holidays and all, we had breakfasts (Indianized version Poha, Pakodas, Dosa types), I used to enjoy the routine breaker. But I always fantasized that when I will be working and living alone, I will make it sure that I will have proper breakfast and ensure that I make it the best meal of the day.

During my GIM (MBA) days, I had some of the best breakfasts ever which included double cheese omelet at Fidalgo after night out with masala tea, Breakfast at munchees and one breakfast I had at Palolim. And the omelet pao or paratha, ginger tea and smoke at CASA was outstanding and uncomparable.I bet  the best place to have breakfasts are the hotels where either you can indulge in buffet breakfast or order in your room, readymade has its charm.I sometimes wonder that you see innumerable restaurants specializing in Lunch and Dinner, but I really miss restaurants delivering sumptuous breakfasts, majority of restaurants aren’t even open during breakfast time.

As I started my job at Hyderabad, I realized how difficult it is to arrange proper breakfast on your own. If you have to reach office by 9, if you want to include a breakfast as well, you would have to wake up at least at 6:30. And if you are going to bed by 12:30 or 1, that is a pretty uphill task. So I have struggled in the last two years to get up in time to squeeze in my dear breakfast in the schedule of things, but I have been severely unsuccessful. Sometimes I dream of a perfect breakfast waiting for me, Eggs, Toasts, Pancakes, cereals, sausages, juice, coffee followed by a smoke (this is a part of breakfast for me). Sometimes I think why am I earning so much if can’t have a decent breakfast in mornings, stumps me.

I don’t know how many of you have breakfast in morning? If you do, how do you manage it? And if you don’t then do you miss it as much as  I do. Do tell me, are you in love with breakfast as I am?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Vartika permalink
    June 1, 2010 4:09 pm

    I would love to have a sumptuous B’fast too….So when are you planning to get it into your schedule as me too at your receiving end now!! 😉

  2. Gary permalink
    April 18, 2010 10:21 pm

    Nice post there. yes CASA was a great breakfast place. I used to frequent it whenever i had first lec off.

    Key to halving good breakfast is getting up early so that you have half an hour to 45 minutes of exclusive breakfast time! No use of big bucks if we can’t have breakfast properly – well said!

    • April 18, 2010 10:39 pm

      Thanks Gary..Wud try to get up early as much as possible ..

  3. ISHAAN permalink
    April 15, 2010 2:49 pm

    You may chose to get married and ask your wife to make a healtht breakfast for you!!
    BTW- a very delicious & sumptuous read!

    • April 15, 2010 2:59 pm

      Bhai, aaj kal ki ladkiya and they will cook B’fast for you, i doubt it bhai !!

  4. April 14, 2010 9:43 pm

    First of all, nice post and nicer to know that i am not the only one from GIM who loves breakfast. 🙂

    To help you out with the breakfast quandary in Hyderabad – try Ofen in Banjara Hills for breakfast – definitely open at 8, so you can finish the meal by 8:45 and rush to office. No office is more than 15 mins away from there. There’s one more place that Ankan Dabral (who is in Hyd as of now) told me. More details about it later.

    And yes, I have good breakfast at my office cafeteria. Breakfast is indeed the most important meal of the day.

    Cheers!

    • April 14, 2010 10:46 pm

      Thanks Prashant for the tips..Gud to knw a fellow GIMite breakfast lover…Wud wait for Ankan’s tip on the place..

  5. April 14, 2010 8:42 pm

    Oh I love breakfast, my mother has made sure every day I have something to eat because it is the most important meal of the day. I try to encourage my friends who skip breakfast and just wait until lunch time to get something in their stomach to break that habit because it isn’t good for their bodies. Thank you for sharing, i really enjoyed reading this post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

