Skip to content

GIM: A Journey to Remember

April 2, 2010

“You have to go on and be crazy. Craziness is like heaven.” –   Jimi Hendrix

There are multiple points in life where you have to take a decision; decision that is going to pave the way for your future. I was at such a juncture in life in March 2006 when I had calls from 5 prestigious MBA colleges, and I had to decide where my next two years will be spent laying the foundation of my professional career. My five calls were Tapmi , IMI, KJ Somaiya, IMT HR and a college called GIM (Goa Institute of Management).

At that time I was working in TIME which incidentally coaches for MBA entrance preparations, so I had pretty good idea about college rankings and reputations. Incidentally my research never came up with GIM as the best choice neither did my boss approved it as the right choice. Don’t even ask about my parents, they used to say ‘GOA and MBA’ doesn’t sound like a very compatible couple. But somewhere inside me, I had already decided that GIM would be the choice. I was never a very R&D driven kinda guy, I always used to follow my guts, and they were literally shouting “Dude c’mon GOA for two years and a MBA degree as a byproduct; you would be ass to let this one go”. So I set aside ‘reason’ and chose to go for GIM which incidentally my Boss, parents and relatives, didn’t really approve of. But in Salman Khan’s words – ‘Ek baar maine commitment kar diya, phir toh mai apne aap ki bhi nahi sunta’ 😉

Now I had this picture of a MBA college in my mind (as many of my classmates as well), big campuses, lot of trees, big classrooms, fancy Messes and what not. But when I landed in Goa on June 22, 2006 at Madgaon and hired a cab to drop us at Old Hospital (now what haunted me for next two years was Goans didn’t had much idea about a college called GIM, but they recognized the place by the name of Old hospital).

So as i got down from the cab after enjoying the Goan scenery for good 1 hour, we (me, Anshul and Mukher) were standing on this big gate of a yellow colored building opposite to a water body called ‘Mandovi’. As we entered the building and checked out the surroundings, we could literally hear our dreams shattering into pieces, as we saw a campus that was finished before it started, how would they fit 240 people here, was my thought. I had already started to repent my decision, as we set out to get the rooms, options provided to me was Admin and Hilltop, I chose admin.

So we started the journey called PGDM (Post Graduate Diploma in Management) from GIM. As I settled into the place and met the other 119 batch mates (Which was actually the most diverse group of people possible, people from all over India, with their distinct personalities and quirks, With different choices and beliefs proving the Theory of Randomization to the core), explored the extensions of GIM called Genes, Jaggus and Casa, GIM started to run its magic on me.  What were perceived as the drawbacks on first day, actually proved be the actual asset of GIM. Being such a small campus, on an average you will encounter each person twice or thrice. It was hard to not talk to or not get to know someone with these many encounters per day (although some people could still hibernate in Morgue or hilltop, let’s treat them as exceptions).

So friendships started taking shape, although everybody could be with everybody; as mess,jaggus,genes, casa – there were too many places to collide with people and lot of things to talk about over ginger tea or omellete pao or beer or old monk or coffee from jaggus. Started exploring the surroundings: ferry rides across mandovi, haunted church, Miramaar and best of all Fidalgo – a 24 hour hotel, whose restaurant was open all night to serve the broke GIMites with 35 bucks coffee or tea and no cover charges 😉

The best thing about GIM was that pursuing MBA formed a very small part of our lives (not counting the studious buggers); there was so much to explore. GIM instilled a sense of freedom in me: freedom from purpose, freedom to do anything and everything I wanted to do, and yet not having to think about the objective behind it. Waking up, going to class without brushing or bathing, sleeping through lectures, IP wars, GCP (Global Class Participation), bunking, Fish thali at Casa, Beer with Tandoori at Genes, Bakar at jaggus, Sutta at the riverview table at casa, Movies on Pogo  all night, Fidalgo trip in between, 6 am breakfast at Casa again with rising sun (without brushing  again 😉  And yes all this with mere 3000 bucks a month, can you imagine? Life was so simple and yet so exhilarating.

GIM had been able to preserve lot of traditions which passed through batches every year: first and foremost Basanti cup (Cricket tournament named after a old tower reservoir in GIM), festivals especially Diwali (free pass to enter the Girls hostel which was out of reach for boys otherwise: although we could never comprehend why girls were allowed to hang out at boys hostel ;-)) Birthday celebrations at 12 night, Bucket Parties and what not. These traditions played an important role in bringing people together. And yes how can I forget the Rocking parties which gave us the not so needed reason to party hard through the night.

Although studies did take its toll on us when profs decided to give us hard time by giving case studies and assignments, but the good thing was groups were formed to do them, which eventually made them a lot of fun, as we used to half heartedly tried to complete them asap so that we could do the more important things in life, like a ride to munchies at 12 in the night to have dinner J

A must mention here is the boys hostel OT which was the epicenter of activity in GIM and a perma residence of girls as well, as compared to their pseudo residence Girls hostel.  OT followed a strict Open door policies and anybody can drop in anytime (seriously ANYtime) for a headphone, or a cigarette (Prabal deserves a honorary mention here), or something to eat, or to copy the assignment at last moments.  OT really played an important role in acting as a catalyst in making some everlasting friendships. We came to GIM as 120 individuals but left GIM as friends.

We as a batch epitomized the phrase ‘We came, We lived and We Conquered’. But the most important part in the phrase is ‘We Lived’. As I sit here and think about my life, I can see mad rush for money, careers, aspirations, long working hours, less time for friends, even lesser time for yourself:  Have I started just ‘Existing’ and stopped living because if what we had GIM was life, then surely can’t be called living.

We lived our life in GIM, we were unbound, uncluttered, without inhibitions; in other word we were free. And we let go of everything that was remotely sane or logical, we did whatever we wanted without thinking of implications: in other words we crossed the barriers of Consciousness or Sanity. We dived into the realms of ‘Crazy’, we let go of ourselves completely  and hence we had the unforgettable times at GIM and GOA, which would always have the most special places in our heart .

“You have to go on and be crazy. Craziness is like heaven.” –   Jimi Hendrix


A song from 3 Idiots is one of my favorite songs, few lines befits on all of us:

Give me some Sunshine
give me some rain
Give me another chance
wanna grow up once again

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ISHAAN permalink
    April 15, 2010 3:00 pm

    BULLSEYE!

  2. ritwick permalink
    April 2, 2010 10:00 pm

    nice one…well captured in a small space 🙂

Leave a Reply

